Text Size   decrease font size increase font size
  1. The provisions of this information are not intended and do not create an express or implied contract of employment or an offer of employment between the County and its employees nor any guarantee or promise that benefits and pension referenced here are permanent or cannot be changed. If there is a conflict between the provisions and any other information contained herein or otherwise communicated, the Plan's provisions will govern. If you have a question, please contact the Pension Coordinator.


  1. Committee Members and Officers

    The Douglas County Board of Commissioners shall appoint members to the Committee. The current number of members is eleven, one of who shall be a County Commissioner. In the event the County Board of Commissioners should provide for term limits for members of the Committee, the Committee shall amend these by-laws. Such amendments shall provide for staggered terms of current members of the Committee to insure continuity in the functioning of the Committee until full implementation of the term limits are achieved.

    There shall be a Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary elected by the members of the Committee. Each officer shall be elected for a one-year term at the first meeting of the Committee of the current calendar year.

    The Chair shall preside at all meetings, provided that in the absence of the Chair, the Vice-Chair shall preside. In the event that both the Chair and Vice-Chair are absent the Committee shall choose a temporary chair to preside.

    In the event of a vacancy of any Committee office the Committee shall elect a member to fill the unexpired term.
    The signature of the Chair, Vice-Chair or Secretary, as appropriate shall authenticate the records and other documents of the Committee.

  2. Meetings and Minutes

    The Committee shall meet regularly on the last Thursday of the month unless otherwise approved by a majority vote of Committee members. Whenever the regular meeting date falls on a legal holiday, the meeting shall be held on the preceding day, unless the Committee shall fix another time.

    Committee meetings shall be open to the public and an Agenda shall be available at least 48 hours prior to the scheduled meeting time. Minutes of all meetings of the Committee shall be kept and maintained by the Pension Administrator or such other person as the Committee may designate.

    Members of the public may address the Committee on any items appearing on the Agenda. Any matters brought to the attention of the Committee which do not appear on the Committee’s Agenda may be discussed but not acted upon by the Committee until placed on the Agenda of a regularly scheduled meeting.

    The Chair may call special meetings after providing written notice to each member of the Committee at least seventy-two hours before the time fixed for the meeting. The notice shall state the purpose of the meeting and none other shall be considered. A member by their presence shall be deemed to waive all objections as to notice. An absentee member may at the next regular meeting by asserting lack of adequate notice move to reconsider any action taken at the special meeting.

  3. Voting

    All votes on motions or resolutions shall be by voice vote, provided that any member of the Committee may request a roll call vote on any motion or resolution. All roll call votes shall be called in alphabetical order, except the Chair shall be called last. All roll call votes shall be recorded and maintained as a part of the minutes of the meeting.

    Any proposition requiring a vote may be put orally or in writing, provided that any member may require before a roll call vote that it be reduced to writing in the form in which it will appear in the minutes. Oral resolutions shall be stated in the minutes of the meeting at which they are adopted. All resolutions, whether oral or in writing shall be indexed by year of adoption and assigned a resolution number.

  4. Quorum

    A majority of the members of the Committee shall constitute a quorum to transact business, provided that if there are less than ten members of the Committee due to the failure of the County Board to appoint someone to a vacant membership position such vacncy[s] shall not be counted in determining if there is a majority present for the purposes of establishing a quorum.

  5. Order of Business

    The following order of business shall not be dispensed with except by a majority
    vote of the Committee:
    1. Roll Call and determination of a quorum
    2. Correction and approval of the minutes of the preceding meeting.
    3. Communications and Reports
    4. Agenda items

  6. Subcommittees

    The Chair may from time to time, with the approval of the members establish such subcommittees as may be necessary to assist the Committee in the performance of its responsibilities. The Chair shall designate members of such subcommittees.

  7. Amendments to By-Laws

    The by-laws may be amended at any meeting by a two-thirds majority vote of the Committee at the first regular meeting after the meeting at which the motion or resolution to change the by-laws is offered by a majority vote of the Committee.